pressure welder image
pressure welder

Pressure Welder: Class A

Class A Pressure Welder

The Class A Pressure Welder certificate of qualification allows you to perform pressure welding on pressure equipment while employed by a licenced contractor. This certificate is suitable for those graduating from the ITA welder program, or those from outside of BC who have a reciprocal certificate.

To obtain this certificate, you’ll need to meet certain eligibility requirements and pass a practical exam.

If you are a pressure welder from outside BC, see Transfer to BC.

Class A Pressure Welder syllabus.


To be eligible for this certificate, you must have one of the following:

  • Welder certificate with a Red Seal Endorsement, issued by the Industry Training Authority of BC (ITA)
  • Welder trade qualification, with or without a Red Seal Endorsement issued by an apprenticeship authority in another jurisdiction of Canada
  • Welder level A or B certificate, with or without a Red Seal Endorsement issued by the ITA

You must also have a Welders Log Book, issued by the ITA, and pass a practical exam.

About this exam

This practical exam is 4.5 hours long and must be completed through a recognized test administrator, under the supervision of a Technical Safety BC boiler safety officer. View the Class A Pressure Welder syllabus.

For more information on the Class A Pressure Welder exam, including how to book one, visit the Exam Information page.

After you receive your certificate

Your Class A certificate allows you to take performance qualification tests, which you must pass before engaging in pressure welding work on regulated equipment. Performance qualification tests follow a registered Welding Procedure Specification.

The continuity section of your Welders Log Book must also be updated in accordance with the requirements of ASME Section IX, for the applicable welding process. If you fail to obtain your Welders Log Book from ITA, or if you fail to keep it current, you may not be able to qualify for certification and/or the ongoing renewal of your certificate.

You must renew your certificate every three years. Learn more.